An Informed Electorate

I just posted this on Oscraps, but thought it important to post here too.

I know you all know I am a liberal/progressive, and it is no secret that I am voting for Obama. But I truly enjoy listening to all sides of an issue- it forces me to think outside of my own box, which is one reason I love politics!

Unfortunately, I am finding that main stream media/TV news is not doing a good enough job of informing the electorate- the people- on the issues. Because of corporate ownership and that news is more entertainment than investigative, the truth gets muddled with misinformation and smears.
I find that I do better reading my news online.
Some of my favorite, non-biased sites:
NPR Topics: News
BBC News | News Front Page | World Edition
RealClearPolitics (This has articles from the left, the right and everything in between)
Democracy Now! (This leans left on issues it reports, but it is one of the few sites that does true investigative journalism)

Then you need your Fact Checking:
PolitiFact
FactCheck.org
Fact Check

It is really good to know that the claims made by the McCain/Palin team regarding Bill Ayers has been completely debunked:
A radical Ayers allegation

One last website:If you are not sure where the Candidate stand on isuues- here’s a cute site:
Election 2008: Issues-o-Meter

I know I prob send too much time with politics, but I feel that the US Constitution is an incredible and amazing document. It has provided us with a system of checks and balances that is a work of art. It also reminds us that *we* are the Gov’t – “We, the people” And it is up to us to vote our own conscience, but it needs to be an informed conscience.

Quote:
“The most effectual means of preventing [the perversion of power into tyranny are] to illuminate, as far as practicable, the minds of the people at large, and more especially to give them knowledge of those facts which history exhibits, that possessed thereby of the experience of other ages and countries, they may be enabled to know ambition under all its shapes, and prompt to exert their natural powers to defeat its purposes.” –Thomas Jefferson: Diffusion of Knowledge Bill, 1779. FE 2:221, Papers 2:526

Love that TJ

Better get off my soapbox, the air is getting thin this way up high and I am getting dizzy

Leave a Reply

