Text on A Path

One of the coolest features of ACDSee Photo Editor is being able to type text on a path. When I scrap with Photoshop, it is really difficult for me to get it all set up right. In PE 2008, it is so simple, that even I can do it. *wink*

This is a layout I am doing for an Oscraps Challenge: Monday, Jan 4 – 10, 2010! Member Spotlight: BUSH GIRL In it,, we have to use a photo block and then journal around the block.  Here is the layout I chose to scraplift, by Selena aka Bush Girl.

I am going to place my text around that large photo, but to change the layout around a bit, I am going to crop it in a circle and place the text around that.

First I know that I need a photo with a good face shot, and I have the one I want. It is of Caitlyn from Christmas Eve. The Kit I am using is Oh Joy! Collaborative Kit by Danielle Young and Cinzia Loosemore.

After I select my papers, and elements, I drag them into the Photo Editor Image Basket. I set the layout up, cropping the photo into a circle, using the Cookie Cutter tool. Now I am ready for  my journaling.  I click on the Text Tool, select my font (CK Rugged), and font color, and then the Path Button. I chose the circle path, click ok, then get set to type.

As I type my journaling, the characters form into the shape. When I am done typing, I can use the Naviagation tool to size the text so it fits around my photo perfectly. You can also chahnge your font size and spacing to further fine-tune it if it needs it.

Here is the finished layout:

4 responses to “Text on A Path

  1. Chris that is gorgeous!! Love how you did the text around the photo 🙂

  2. wow, Chris!! I love this LO!! I can’t believe how fast she is growing up!! yikes!! *sigh*

  3. Love the mini tutorial Chris … it’s always fascinating to see how others scrappers work!!! Hugs, sue.falstaff

  4. Great tutorial Chris & gorgeous end result!

    You’re right about it being more complicated in PS.. Everytime I want to do it I have to re-lookup the instructions 😉

Leave a Reply

