Using Shortcuts in Photo Manager

I don’t know about any of you, but when I am tagging my scrap kits in Photo Manager, I tend to have my pen (from my Wacom tablet) in one hand, while I try to type and move around the screen. I love having shortcuts, so I am going to share some of my most used shortcuts in the newest version of Photo Manager, version 12.

There is a huge list of shortcuts that you can use, preset by ACDsee. The list is pretty long, but there are a few that I use quite often. Of course, I use Ctrl-C and Crtl-V when I am adding information to the Author and Caption boxes. I will use Esc. for exiting out of View Mode. Of course, these are most likely familiar to many of you already.

One of my favorite shortcuts us F2, which is to rename a folder or file. I use this one all of the time to rename folders of kit names so they are more uniform.

A new shortcut  in this version is \ (backslash) which tags or untags files in one step. This is not tagging with a Category tag, but is a one step way to “tag” photos or files that you want to be able to find easily later on. If you are working with a group of photos, you can \  to tag them then when you need to call them up, you go to the Organize Pane, select “Tagged,” located under “Special Items,” and any of the photos or files you selected will come up. I used to add photos to my “Favorites” but I find this to be a much faster and easier to manage process.

Another one I am using more is Alt-M which moved files without having to right-click or go through the Edit Menu.

These are just a few of the ones I use most often. In another blog post coming soon, I am going to show you how to customize your shortcuts to make it even easier to work in Photo Manager 12.

Leave a Reply

