Everyone, Please Stop!

This hatred in our country has to stop. All American- how can we act like this? All of us. People have died, and all I see is hatred and blame and accusation. A child has been killed. She might have been a future public servant. She was at the Congresswoman’s meet and greet because her neighbor thought she would be interested. And what have we, as a Nation, done? Blamed everyone for this.

As way of disclaimer, most people know I am a progressive, lefty, tree hugging, save the world kinda girl. I make no apologies for that. It is who I am and how I view the world. I have no issue with conservative  people. I grew up with  the real life version of Alex P. Keaton and I still love him to death 🙂

However the difference to how I grew up, with respectful agreement is so far gone from what I see now. I read and listen to a wide range of media, both online and on the radio. The left-leaning sites are saying that Jared Loughner is a Tea Party type, and blame Sarah Palin and Glen Beck for the hateful rhetoric. The sites on the right and calling him a lefty/Communist/Fascist. What is this based on? On a list of books he read? My favorite book is Gone with the Wind, does that make me a Southern Confederacy Sympathizer? Of course not.

(for the record it in impossible to be a Communist and Fascist at the same time)

But regardless of you political ideology, the fact remains that words matter. It has been said before, it will be said again. I don’t care what point you are on in the political spectrum, what you say and how you say it matters. There is no place for hatred and misinformation is news and political and in life!

I’ll be the first to admit, I was not a supporter of President Bush. My kids used “Icky Pooey Bush” in Scattergories for “Presidents” and Letter I. But they also knew that they were not allowed to talk like that outside of our home and that they had to be respectful to him because he was our President. My kids also got the privilege of hearing me read the Bill of Rights to them at the dinner table after the PATRIOT Act was passed. The First Amendment is first because Free Speech is so important.

I am sure that there is hate speech on all sides of the political spectrum and political media. Like I have said, I listen and read articles from all sides. But I do have to note, that the stuff I hear coming from the “fringe right” is horrifying. There should be no place in politics for people calling for Second Amendment remedies, or calling for executions and assassinations of anyone. The Conservatives that I know are not like that but they are obviously out there.

So no matter what your belief system is, or how you feel about the government, please keep in mind that what you put out there, what you listen to, all of that garbage coming from anyone with a microphone… its out there. While the people most likely to read this are not the ones who will take a suggestion of hatred and act on it, again, there are people like Jared Loughner who will.

Leave a Reply

